LibGuides: e-books: Fiction/Leisure

NC Home Grown ebooks

Need to read one of Shakespeare's plays? These websites provide access to those that have been placed in the public domain.

OverDrive
With OverDrive, you can borrow and enjoy free eBooks, audiobooks, and more from your library's digital collection.
more...less...
All you need to get started is an internet connection and a library card.

Bartleby.com: Great Books Online This link opens in a new window
Bartleby.com publishes the classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference free of charge.
Bibliomania: Free Online Literature and Study Guides This link opens in a new window
Contains 2,000 classic texts
Children's Books Online: The Rosetta Project This link opens in a new window
A collection of illustrated antique children's books in English and multiple languages.
FullBooks This link opens in a new window
Literary classics, fiction, and non-fiction
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Digital book database
Hypertexts This link opens in a new window
American studies, fiction and non-fiction from the University of Virginia Department of American Studies
International Children's Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A historical and contemporary children's books collection from throughout the world.
Internet Archive Text Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
Online Literature Library This link opens in a new window
Classic American and European authors' works
Page by Page Books This link opens in a new window
Variety of classic fiction and nonfiction
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Thousands of classic volumes with new additions being added regularly
Read Print This link opens in a new window
American and British classic authors