Skip to main content

Get Started with OverDrive

OverDrive Account

What is OverDrive account?

OverDrive account is from OverDrive Inc.; it is different from your library account. It is free and optional, and you can close your OverDrive account any time.

OverDrive account allows you to keep bookmarks and reading or listening position in sync across multi devices, as well as allowing to save libraries and researches. 

  • Sync your progress and bookmarks 
    Devices with the latest OverDrive app (for Android 4.0+, iOS 6.0+, or Windows 8/RT) work with your OverDrive account to sync your progress and bookmarks for eBooks, audiobooks, and streaming videos that you've downloaded or added to the app. So, when you move from your iPad to your Nexus 5, you don't have to spend time scrolling through pages or fast-forwarding to find your place or favorite passages.
  • Sync and filter search results to your saved OverDrive libraries 
    When you save libraries to your OverDrive account, you can access them from any device you've signed in with. When you get a new tablet and install the OverDrive app, just sign in to your account and your saved libraries will appear automatically. When searching at OverDrive.com, you can filter results to show only titles available at your libraries.
  • Save searches to your account 
    Are you a Jim Butcher fan? With an OverDrive account, you can search for "Jim Butcher," save the results, and then return to them each time you're ready to check out the next book in the series.
  • Simplify Adobe ID registration 
    If you read eBooks from OverDrive, you know that the Adobe registration process can be frustrating. With your OverDrive account and an Android or iOS device, this will become a one-time step. After your initial registration, we'll automatically activate new devices for you when you sign into your OverDrive account on each device. You can have up to six devices synced with your account and activated with the same Adobe ID.

Sign Up

Fill in your name, email address, and make up a password that works best for you and re-type it;  click Sign up at the bottom and your are done!

How do I sync my devices using my OverDrive account

Follow these steps to sync your Adobe ID, reading progress, bookmarks, and saved libraries on multiple devices using an OverDrive account:

  1. Install OverDrive Media Console (OMC) 3 on each device you plan to use.
  2. Create an OverDrive account (if you haven't already done so). 
  3. Create an Adobe ID for your devices (if you haven't already done so).
  4. Sign into your OverDrive account through the OverDrive app on each device. You'll get prompted to sign in with both your Adobe ID and OverDrive account the first time you open OMC. You can find your OverDrive Account in the Home menu (Android and iOS) or theSettings menu (Windows 8 and RT).
  5. On each device, download the title(s) you'd like to be synced.

After completing these steps, titles downloaded through OMC will sync automatically on each device. So, if you read a book on your phone during the day, you can pick up right where you left off on your tablet later that night. Plus, you won't have to enter your Adobe ID again as long as you've signed into your OverDrive account through OMC 3 on each device.

Note: You must be signed in with your OverDrive account and have the same titles downloaded on each device to sync your progress and bookmarks.

How to Close OverDrive account

  1. Sign in to your OverDrive account.
  2. Select Account in the top-right corner.
  3. At the bottom of the page, select Visit this page to close your account.
  4. Confirm by clicking Close Account.

Please remember: once your account is closed, you'll no longer be able to sync titles across devices.