LibGuides: American History Library Guide: Library References & Databases

More Information

NCLIVE Tips/Tricks

How to Search NCLIVE
Use this how-to guide to successfully search NCLIVE
NCLIVE -Citation Tips
One of our favorite tools in NCLIVE, this guide shows you how to use NCLIVE to provide citation information in various formats- MLA, APA, etc.

Questions? Chat with a Librarian!

Search for books, DVDs, and more. . .

NCLIVE History Resources

Credo Reference Database

Credo is a full-text database of background content. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.

Credo Reference How To - step by step course
Use this step by step hands on online tutorial to learn how to use Credo Reference database.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of electronic reference books (e-books) and specialized encyclopedias that can be crossed searched. Listed below is a selective list of reference titles covering art, business, history, law, medicine, multiculturalism, and social sciences that are available in the database. Click on each title to access and search the electronic book.

The platform has a wide range of benefits:

Search individually or as a complete collection
Full-text eBooks
Authoritative references
24/7 access from any Internet-connected computer
ReadSpeaker technology (text-to-speech) allowing text to be read aloud to users and downloaded in MP3 format
No special reader or hardware required
Ability to print, e-mail and download articles
On-demand content translation into 11 languages
Unlimited simultaneous use

How to Use Gale ebooks online tutorial
Use this hands on tutorial to learn how to use Gale ebooks.

Other Useful Databases

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Primary Encyclopedia to locate thousands of articles, images, and more!--
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Online streaming video collection that contains thousands of videos.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography via ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
NCLIVE Resource
This resource is recommended for the study of slavery from the bottom up, the narratives are invaluable
DigitalNC This link opens in a new window
NCLIVE Resource
Digital NC is home to tens of thousands of items, containing hundreds of thousands of digital images from cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina.
Digital Public Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to the special collections of North Carolina's libraries, archives, museums, historic sites, and other cultural institutions.
NCLIVE History & Biography Resources
North American Women's Letters and Diaries via Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
NCLIVE Resource
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.

SIRS Issues Researcher
SIRS Issues Researcher stands apart by offering balanced content selections from more than 2,000 international sources. ProQuest editors curate content to cover the pros, cons, and everything in between, on the most studied issues. SIRS Issues Researcher delivers diverse perspectives on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information and tools that equip students to think critically about global controversies.

Search

NCLIVE
more...less...
Searches NCLIVE
How to use NCLIVE hands on tutorial
Learn how to use NCLIVE with hands on activities.

American History Library Guide: Library References & Databases

More Information

NCLIVE Tips/Tricks

Questions? Chat with a Librarian!

Search for books, DVDs, and more. . .

NCLIVE History Resources

Search History & Biography

Credo Reference Database

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Other Useful Databases

Search

Ebook Search

Search eBooks

Why a Database? Video