LibGuides: e-books: Free E-books Online

Quick Links

Standard Ebooks

Standard Ebooks- Classics that you can Read on any device
"Standard Ebooks is a volunteer-driven effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks." (from Standard Ebooks About page)

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg offers over 39,000 free e-books: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window

Free E-books Online

Bartleby.com: Great Books Online This link opens in a new window
Bartleby.com publishes the classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference free of charge.
Bibliomania: Free Online Literature and Study Guides This link opens in a new window
Contains 2,000 classic texts
Bookshelf at National Center for Biotechnoloy Information (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Children's Books Online: The Rosetta Project This link opens in a new window
A collection of illustrated antique children's books in English and multiple languages.
eBooks at Adelaide: Free Web Books, Online This link opens in a new window
Includes 500 classic works, fiction and nonfiction from the University of Adelaide.
FreeBooks4Doctors: Free Medical Books Online This link opens in a new window
Full text medical books
FullBooks This link opens in a new window
Literary classics, fiction, and non-fiction
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Digital book database
Hypertexts This link opens in a new window
American studies, fiction and non-fiction from the University of Virginia Department of American Studies
International Children's Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A historical and contemporary children's books collection from throughout the world.
Internet Archive Text Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
History books covering period from Reformation to World War II from the Fordham University.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. From the University of Michigan.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) This link opens in a new window
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The OAPEN Library includes e-books from across Europe, in a variety of languages.
Online Literature Library This link opens in a new window
Classic American and European authors' works
Page by Page Books This link opens in a new window
Variety of classic fiction and nonfiction
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Thousands of classic volumes with new additions being added regularly
Read Print This link opens in a new window
American and British classic authors
Religion Online This link opens in a new window
More than 6,000 articles and chapters. Topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education.
S.A.R.A.I. South Asia Resource Access on the Internet This link opens in a new window
Includes books on India, Pakistan, Nepal, Ceylon, and more by Columbia University Libraries Department of South & Southeast Asian Studies.
The Online Books Page This link opens in a new window
Contains 20,000 full text online books listed author, title, and subject-searching. From the University of Pennsylvania.
World Public Library This link opens in a new window
Consortium of electronic book collections online.

Google Books

Religious E-books

Find religious books, including the Bible, in these websites:

Bible Gateway This link opens in a new window
King James Bible Online This link opens in a new window
Religion Online This link opens in a new window
Sacred Scripture This link opens in a new window
The Vatican Archive This link opens in a new window

Shakespeare's Works

Need to read one of Shakespeare's plays? These websites provide access to those that have been placed in the public domain.

Shakespeare Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare This link opens in a new window