The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more.
Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Gale partners with college and university librarians to collect, preserve, and organize rare content as part of our extensive collection of primary source archives and educational databases—bringing resources that are specifically designed for online learning into the classroom.
Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with all popular e-readers that support apps. An app is available for download. Users will need to make a personal account to use this resource.
Explore past issues of Our State, one of North Carolina's longest running and most popular magazines. First published in 1933, The State (as it was known until 1996) features stories about North Carolina's people, places, and history.
Students, faculty and staff can browse a collection of downloadable ebook, audio book and magazine titles in a variety of subjects including classic and current fiction as well as popular nonfiction titles. This collection can be accessed 24/7 by visiting TCCC’s Overdrive website. Library card number required for access.
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
Explore the most significant figures in literature from ancient times to the present day. In this comprehensive list, Harold Bloom has selected authors and works that represent the greatest achievements of the Western literary tradition. Use this resource as a starting point to learn more.
The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
The Faber Poetry Library contains the works of 50 poets comprising 140 volumes of poetry. The authors are all part of the Faber Poetry list and the database enjoys the active support of the publisher and the poets or their estates. Authors covered include Simon Armitage, Rupert Brooke, Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Lavinia Greenlaw, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, David Jones, Louis MacNeice, Andrew Motion, Paul Muldoon, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath, Siegfried Sassoon, Stephen Spender and Edward Thomas.
Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
This collection includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material.
ProQuest Learning: Literature is a robust solution for schools that offer teaching and learning in literature from multiple traditions and perspectives. ProQuest Learning: Literature supports key student use cases such as introducing high school students to poets, playwrights and novelists from diverse backgrounds. Editorially created topic pages include author biographies, literary work summaries and analyses, and genre and movement pages. Journals, magazine, and books provide current, authoritative coverage of famous and lesser-known writers, as well as much-studied literary movements like the Harlem Renaissance, the Beat Generation and Transcendentalism.
Includes access to the following reference materials: Isabel Allende, Margaret Atwood, Jane Austen, James Baldwin, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Stephen King, Barbara Kingsolver, Cormac McCarthy, Toni Morrison, Flannery O'Connor, Sylvia Plath, Edgar Allen Poe, Alice Walker, & Tennessee Williams. Other works include Dracula, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, The Great Gatsby, The Inferno, & To Kill a Mockingbird.
Includes access to the following reference materials: Good & Evil, Southern Gothic Literature, Manga, World Mythology, Contemporary Poets, American Writers, British, Irish, & Commonwealth Writers, European Writers, Topical Essays, World Writers, Notable African American Writers, & Notable American Women Writers.
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
This unparalleled collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to 2000, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating poets from The Faber Poetry Library.
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner. Transparent Language Online combines robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps for a complete language-learning experience.
Library Science Database gives users full-text access to a selection of publications relevant to library and information science. It covers a range of titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals.
NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList Plus answers the question: What should I read next?